An Independent Guide to Britain’s Preserved Railways
If you like this page, bookmark it or share it
Copyright © 2010 British Heritage

About | Terms of use | Privacy policy | Disclaimer

Click on a former BR
Region on the map

Please support the work of British Heritage Railways by making a donation towards building and maintaining this website. Payments are processed securely by PayPal.

STEAM: Museum of the GWR
Western Region
  1. Avon Valley Railway (SG)
  2. Barry Tourist Railway (SG)
  3. Bideford Railway Museum (SG)
  4. Bodmin & Wenford railway (SG)
  5. Brecon Mountain Railway (NG)
  6. Cholsey & Wallingford Railway (SG)
  7. Dartmoor Railway (SG)
  8. Dartmouth Steam Railway (SG) Coming soon
  9. Dean Forest Railway (SG)
  10. Devon Railway Centre (NG)
  11. Didcot Railway Centre (SG/BG)
  12. Donyatt Halt
  13. East Somerset Railway (SG)
  14. Gloucestershire Warwickshire Railway (SG)
  15. Gwili Railway (SG)
  16. Helston Railway (SG)
  17. Lappa Valley Railway (NG)
  18. Launceston Steam Railway (NG)
  19. Lynton & Barnstaple Railway (NG)
  20. Plym Valley Railway (SG)
  21. Pontypool & Blaenavon Railway (SG)
  22. Seaton Tramway (NG)
  23. Somerset & Dorset Railway Heritage Centre (SG)
  24. South Devon Railway (SG)
  25. STEAM: Museum of the GWR
  26. Swindon & Cricklade Railway (SG)
  27. Teifi Valley Railway (NG)
  28. Toddington Narrow Gauge Railway (NG)
  29. West Somerset Railway (SG)
  30. Yeovil Railway Centre (SG)

Click on a red pointer to go to the railway’s dedicated page, Yellow pointers show locations of Railways and attractions which have yet to be reviewed on British Heritage Railways


Heritage railways in the former BR Western Region (1963 - 1992):

(SG) = Standard gauge     (NG) = Narrow gauge     (BG) = Broad gauge