The 2½ mile narrow gauge Launceston Steam Railway in Cornwall now has it’s own page on British Heritage Railways.
Built on former standard gauge trackbed, the 1 11½” gauge line runs west from the historic town of Launceston through the Kensey Valley to the hamlet of Newmills, the station being adjacent to the Farm Park.
Railways arrived in Launceston in 1865 with the opening of the broad gauge Launceston and South Devon Railway from Plymouth, later absorbed into the Great Western Railway. The London and South Western Railway arrived 21 years later, Launceston LSWR station became a through station when the line was extended to Padstow in the 1890s.
It is on the trackbed of the LSWR padstow line that the Launceston Steam Railway was built, the first ½ mile section opening on Boxing Day 1983 reaching its current terminus at Newmills in 1995. There are plans to extend the line a further 2½ miles to Egloskerry in the future.
Trains are hauled by Quarry Hunslet 0-4-0ST locomotives rescued from Welsh slate quarries and restored to working order. The coaches were all built on site and based on those built for the Manx Electric Railway, Torrington and Marland Railway and the Plynlimon and Hafan Tramway.
Get more fascinating facts and insight on the Launceston Steam Railway, by visiting http://www.british-heritage-railways.co.uk/lsr.html